264. “Perfectly Positioned”

Have you ever wondered and asked, “If I am on the edge of something what I feel God has put in my heart to do, why am I stuck here?” If God wants me to go to this place to tell people about His love, grace and mercy, “why am I going in circles in this place for years now?”

I believe Nehemiah asked those same questions every time he thinks about Jerusalem. “Lord, what am I doing here in Persia? Lord, I want to help build the walls and the temple. I want to become a builder for You. But why am I still a bartender here in the palace?” From the time Nehemiah heard of the difficult situation his people were in, he wept. The Bible says:

“That Hanani, one of my brethren came, he and certain men of Judah: and I asked them concerning the Jews that had escaped, which were left of the captivity, and concerning Jerusalem. And they said unto me, ‘the remnant that are left of the captivity there in the province are in great affliction and reproach: the wall of Jerusalem also is broken down, and the gates thereof are burned with fire” Nehemiah 1:2,3.

Reading on the succeeding verses shows that as soon as Nehemiah heard those words, he sat down and wept and mourned for days. He continued fasting and praying before God. We know what happened next don’t we? We read the book. We know the rest of the story. Consider this question for a moment: When was Nehemiah successful? Was it the day they laid the last brick of the wall? For sure that day must have been the most cheerful and exciting day of his life. I believe Nehemiah became successful the day he embraced the vision God laid on his heart. SUCCESS IS FAITHFULNESS TO THE PROCESS. Nehemiah became faithful the day God laid that burned on him.

Leave a comment